Sen. Kelly Loeffler (R-Ga.) on Wednesday, Jan. 6, reversed course in her plan to object to Electoral College votes, citing the “siege” on the Capitol building by protesters.

During a Monday rally in Georgia where President Donald Trump campaigned for her and David Perdue, Loeffler vowed to contest the election results.

“Elections are the bedrock of our democracy, and the American people deserve to be 100% confident in our election system and its outcomes,” Loeffler said. “But right now, tens of millions of Americans have real concerns about the way in which the November Presidential election was conducted—and I share their concerns.”

Loeffler lost her Senate runoff race to Democratic challenger Raphael Warnock.

On Wednesday, Trump supporters gathered for a “Save America March” in Washington, D.C, in protest of the unfair election. After Vice President Mike Pence announced that he would not object to the certification of some Electoral College votes for presidential nominee Joe Biden, a subgroup of protesters breached the Capitol building.

The violence and unrest forced lawmakers in the House and Senate chambers to suspend the debate on whether to count the available Electoral College votes. They later resumed their work after protesters were eventually dispersed from the building. At least one woman, a Trump supporter, was fatally shot inside the Capitol. 

“When I arrived in Washington this morning, I fully intended to object to the certification of the electoral votes,” Loeffler said when she addressed the Senate. “However, the events that transpired today have forced me to reconsider.

“I cannot now in good conscience object to the certification of these electors,” she continued, “the violence, the lawlessness, and siege of the halls of Congress are abhorrent and stand as a direct attack on the very institution my objection was intended to protect: the sanctity of the American democratic process.”

At least 14 Republican senators said ahead of Wednesday that they would contest the Congress’s joint session’s electoral results. Still, a number of them withdrew their plan along with Loeffler, including Sens. James Lankford (R-Okla.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), and Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.)

The House and the Senate eventually voted against objecting to Arizona’s Electoral College votes in 303-121 and 93-6 vote, respectively. Six Republican senators stuck with their initial plans: Ted Cruz (R-Tex.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), John Kennedy (R-La.), Roger Marshall (R-Kans.), and Sen.-elect Tommy Tuberville (R-Ala.).

Early Thursday morning, the Senate rejected an objection to Pennsylvania’s electoral votes with a final vote of 7-92. Sens. Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.) and Rick Scott (Fla.) did not support the earlier objection to the Arizona vote but sustained the Pennsylvania objection. 

Sen. John Kennedy (R-La.) did not support the objection to the electoral votes from Pennsylvania. 

Sign up to receive our latest news!

By submitting this form, I agree to the terms.