Representative-elect Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-Ga.) on Wednesday, Dec. 30, said that House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) and Republican Majority Leader Mitch McConnell might make some “rules change deal” in how congressional members can object to the Electoral College votes. 

“Word on the Hill is that Mitch McConnell and Nancy Pelosi could be working together on a rules change “deal” to block Electoral College Certification objection. The American people deserve to hear about the voter fraud that took place on Nov 3 … NO DEAL, NO COVER-UP!” Greene wrote in a tweet but did not elaborate on details. 

Greene’s comments come as more Republicans are joining the challenge against the Electoral College results when Congress convenes next week to count the votes from the 2020 presidential election. 

“We will be raising objections to the Electoral College votes for Joe Biden for multiple states,” Greene told Fox News after the White House meeting on Dec. 18.

“Some people just haven’t totally gone public yet, but we’re going to have a lot of people on board, and we definitely have senators,” she added. “This is going to be historic, and the amount of evidence is overwhelming.”

The effort to challenge Democrat candidate Joe Biden’s slate of electors in some disputed states was initiated by Rep. Mo Brooks (R-Ala.) and supported by two dozen Republican House members. 

The list of the current and incoming House GOP lawmakers who have publicly voiced their support for the move includes Reps Andy Biggs, Arizona; Brian Babin, Texas; Mo Brooks, Alabama; Ted Budd, North Carolina; Jeff Duncan, South Carolina; Matt Gaetz, Florida, Louie Gohmert, Texas, Lance Gooden, Texas, Paul Gosar, Arizona, Mark Green, Tennessee, Jefferson Van Drew, New Jersey; Jody Hice, Georgia; Ralph Norman, South Carolina; Scott Perry, Pennsylvania, and Reps-elect Lauren Boebert, Colorado; Jerry Carl, Alabama; Madison Cawthorn, North Carolina; Andrew Clyde, Georgia; Bob Good, Virginia; Yvette Herrell, New Mexico; Ronny Jackson, Texas; Barry Moore, Alabama; Burgess Owens, Utah, and Marjorie Taylor Greene, Georgia.

On Wednesday, Sen. Josh Hawley (R-Mo.) became the first senator to announce that he would join the effort. The participation of Hawley has prompted several other GOP lawmakers to lend their support. 

“I cannot vote to certify the electoral college results on Jan. 6 without raising the fact that some states, particularly Pennsylvania, failed to follow their own state election laws,” Hawley wrote in a statement on Wednesday.

“And I cannot vote to certify without pointing out the unprecedented effort of mega-corporations, including Facebook and Twitter, to interfere in this election, in support of Joe Biden,” he added.

Other than Hawley, Sens. Ted Cruz (R-Texas), Rand Paul (R-Kentucky), Rick Scott (R-Florida), Kelly Loeffler (R-Georgia), and Sen.-elect Tommy Tuberville (R-Alabama) raised the possibility of challenging the Electoral College. 

However, GOP Senate leaders have discouraged the move, with McConnell urging Republicans to avoid a messy floor fight next week. 

Speaking to reporters Wednesday, Pelosi said she is confident Biden will be declared the winner in Congress on Jan. 6.

“I have no doubt that” it will happen, said Pelosi.

Sign up to receive our latest news!

By submitting this form, I agree to the terms.