President Trump becomes the first president to be named Grand Marshal at Daytona 500 and he will get their motors running, a Facebook post on Get Live News reads.

The Grand Marshal’s position at a NASCAR race is to tell the racers to start their engines, wave the green flag to start the race and is the person who gives the trophy to the winner of the race.

The race will be held on Sunday, Feb. 16, with 43 race car drivers participating. President Trump will attend the race and may also be joined at Daytona International Speedway by the first lady and the governor, officials said. 

Dale Earnheardt Jr., the Grand Marshal in 2018, will be the honorary starter waving the green flag to start the race. President Trump will be the one telling the drivers to start their engines, as the two will be splitting duties, according to Country Music Family

When Earnhardt Jr. won his first Daytona 500 race in 2004, former President George Bush did attend the race. Before President Trump, no other sitting or former president has ever held the role. 

NASCAR driver Joe Nemechek will be driving a Mike Harmon Racing car sponsored by the Patriots PAC of America and the car will have Trump and Pence 2020 logos all over it.

When told that Magley had confirmed that President Trump would be attending, Volusia County Sheriff Mike Chitwood said his agency would be making preparation for three VIPs: President Trump, the first lady Melania Trump, and Gov. Ron DeSantis.

Chitwood said that he would defer any questions about the security and traffic to the Speedway and the Secret Service. He said the Sheriff’s Office will coordinate with other law enforcement agencies, including federal agencies like the Secret Service, to guarantee the safety of everyone involved. 

The close relationship between the former NASCAR CEO Brian France Jr. and presidential candidate Donald Trump was reported in 2016 when the CEO endorsed Trump when he was running for president. Last year, in return, President Trump hosted Joey Logano and Martin Truex Jr. at The White House and gave NASCAR team owner Roger Penske the Presidential Medal of Freedom. 

Sign up to receive our latest news!

By submitting this form, I agree to the terms.