Gov. Andrew Cuomo declared a state of emergency on Saturday, March 7, after the number of confirmed cases from the novel coronavirus in New York increased to 76.

The governor said there are 11 confirmed cases are in New York City and 57 are in Westchester County, four in Nassau County, two in Rockland County, as well as two in Saratoga County.

The emergency declaration will allow officials to speed up the purchase of supplies and hiring workers. It will also allow for more resources to go to local health departments responsible for monitoring patients under quarantine.

The number of cases in Westchester County trace back to the second confirmed case in the state, a lawyer from Westchester. In New York City, seven new cases include two people who recently got off a cruise, and five seem to be cases of community spread. As of Friday, New York officials said that they’ve instructed about 4,000 people in the state to self-quarantine, Cuomo said.

California, Maryland, Washington state, and Utah have also declared emergencies. 

More than 300 cases of coronavirus and 19 deaths have been confirmed in the United States across more than two dozen states. Two people have died in Florida, one in California, and 16 in Washington state on Saturday. Meanwhile, 21 people out of 3,500 passengers on board the Grand Princess, a cruise ship docked off the California coast, have tested positive for the virus.

On Saturday, Vice President Mike Pence said that efforts were underway to bring the cruise ship to shore and all passengers will be tested and those who were infected will be quarantined.

The coronavirus has infected more than 105,000 people worldwide and killed at least 3,569 as of Saturday.

Join our program