Twenty Democratic hopefuls will be taking the stage over the course of two evenings for televised debates, June 26 and 27, in Miami, the Democratic National Committee (DNC) announced today. That means all, but four of the current candidates in total will have a chance to present their views during prime time.

Both evenings’ debates will be broadcast live on MSNBC. A lottery process will decide which 10 candidates will debate one another on each evening.

In order to qualify for the debates, candidates were required to raise contributions from at least 65,000 individual donors in at least 20 states, or must have achieved a minimum of 1% support in three official polls.

The debates should give the potential candidates a much-needed opportunity to distinguish themselves from one another, as they try to appeal to one or more factions among Democrats, ranging from moderate to far-left leaning.

The announced debate participants include the following:
   • Michael Bennet, senator from Colorado
   • Joseph Biden, former vice president
   • Cory Booker, senator from New Jersey
   • Pete Buttigieg, mayor of South Bend, Indiana
   • Julian Castro, former secretary of Housing and Urban Development
   • Bill De Blasio, mayor of New York City
   • John Delaney, congressman from Maryland
   • Tulsi Gabbard, congresswoman from Hawaii
   • Kirsten Gillibrand, senator from New York
   • Kamala Harris, senator from California
   • John Hickenlooper, former governor of Colorado
   • Jay Inslee, governor of Washington
   • Amy Klobuchar, senator from Minnesota
   • Beto O’Rourke, congressman from Texas
   • Tim Ryan, congressman from Ohio
   • Bernie Sanders, senator from Vermont
   • Eric Swalwell, congressman from California
   • Elizabeth Warren, senator from Massachusetts
   • Marianne Williamson, best-selling author
   • Andrew Yang, former technology executive

Four potential candidates did not qualify for the debates. They include Steve Bullock, governor of Montana; Seth Moulton, congressman from Massachusetts; Mike Gravel, former senator of Alaska; and Wayne Messam, mayor of Miramar, Florida.