Team Penske’s Will Power will start from pole position to lead the field into the inaugural IndyCar Classic at the Circuit of the Americas in Texas.

Power has 35 career race wins and Sunday offers an extra $100,000 bonus if he can win from pole position, something he has done 16 times. Andretti Autosport teammates Alexander Rossi and Ryan Hunter-Reay will start second and third.

The top rookie qualifier is Colton Herta of Harding Steinbrenner Racing in fourth.

IndyCar is racing for the first time at the track built for Formula One. The 3.41-mile circuit is one of the longest of the IndyCar season.

Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden won the season-opening race in St. Petersburg and starts seventh.


Sign up to receive our latest news!

By submitting this form, I agree to the terms.