Chinese leader Xi Jinping has tightened his grip on power following the holding of the Communist Party’s 20th National Congress. All members elected to the party’s most powerful committee are his close confidants.

After a week-long congress, nearly 2,300 delegates elected seven members to the Politburo Standing Committee.

As the core of the Chinese Communist Party (CCP), Xi will continue his reign as the party’s General Secretary and military commander-in-chief for at least another five years.

According to Chinese law, whoever holds the leadership of the CCP will be the country’s president.

Xi is thus poised for an unprecedented third term as state leader. However, his re-election will not be confirmed until the Chinese parliament convenes its annual session in March 2023.

The other members of the Politburo Standing Committee are Li Qiang, Zhao Leji, Wang Huning, Cai Qi, Ding Xuexiang, and Li Xi. All of them are loyal to Xi.

According to an analysis by Financial Times, this result strengthens Xi’s already ironclad grip on power. He has become China’s most important leader since Mao Zedong.

Xi turned 69 this year. He will rule potentially for as long as his health allows.

Willy Lam, a political expert at the Chinese University of Hong Kong, said the congress had approved revisions to the CCP’s constitution that effectively proclaimed Xi its top leader.

Lam added: “Everyone must obey Xi Jinping.”

The expert said, “On the one hand, this will speed up decision-making, but on the other hand, there will be a complete lack of checks and balances.”

Xi Jinping took office after the CCP’s 18th National Congress in 2012. His far-reaching anti-corruption campaign is one of the most outstanding achievements during his first two terms.

Under this campaign, Xi conducted the largest organized crackdown on “tigers and flies,” who are high-level officials and civil servants.

Most of the officials who were investigated and removed from office have engaged in bribery, abuse of power, and other allegations.

They had another thing in common: All belonged to the faction of former leader Jiang Zemin. Jiang had been notorious for appointing those who supported his persecution of Falun Gong practitioners to key positions in his administration.

A lot of high-ranking officials from Jiang Zemin’s faction were sacked under Xi’s largest organized anti-corruption crusade. Some can be named as: Former Politburo Standing Committee member Zhou Yongkang, former Central Military Commission vice-chairman Xu Caihou and Guo Boxiong, Chongqing’s communist party chief Bo Xilai, the Chinese People’s Political Consultative Conference vice-chairman Ling Jihua.

Sign up to receive our latest news!

By submitting this form, I agree to the terms.