State Department spokesperson, Ned Price, announced on March 24 that the U.S. would sanction five entities and individuals in Russia, North Korea (DPRK), and People’s Republic of China (PRC) for engaging in proliferation activities under “The Iran, North Korea, and Syria Nonproliferation Act (INKSNA).”

The Chinese entity, Zhengzhou Nanbei Instrument Equipment Co Ltd, was sanctioned for supplying Syria with equipment controlled by the Australia Group chemical and biological weapons nonproliferation regime.

State Department spokesman said, “The ongoing imposition of INKSNA sanctions against PRC entities calls attention to the role of PRC entities in proliferation and shortcomings in the PRC’s implementation of export controls and its nonproliferation track record.”

For entities and individuals in Russia and North Korea, Washington accused them of transferring sensitive items to support North Korea’s missile program, including the Russian entities Ardis Group of Companies LLC (Ardis Group); PFK Profpodshipnik; LLC, and Russian individual Igor Aleksandrovich Michurin; as well as DPRK entity Second Academy of Natural Science Foreign Affairs Bureau (SANS FAB); and DPRK individual Ri Sung Chol (aka Ri Su’ng-ch’o ’l.)

Ned Price said, “We will continue to work to impede these programs and use our sanctions authorities to spotlight the foreign suppliers, such as these entities in the PRC and Russia that provide sensitive materials and technology to the DPRK and Syria.”

The sanctions will be effective for two years, including restrictions on U.S. government procurement, U.S. government assistance, and exports.

Sign up to receive our latest news!

By submitting this form, I agree to the terms.