The United States alerted Americans “do not travel” to three regions of China “due to arbitrary enforcement of local laws and COVID-19-related restrictions.”

In an April 8 statement, the U.S. Department of State said, “Do not travel to the PRC’s Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (SAR), Jilin province, and Shanghai municipality due to COVID-19-related restrictions, including the risk of parents and children being separated.”

It also stated that all travelers would undergo quarantine for a minimum of 14 days upon their arrival. Those who test positive during the quarantine period will be taken to a government-approved medical institution.

The statement added, “In some cases, children in Hong Kong who test positive have been separated from their parents and kept in isolation until they meet local hospital discharge requirements.”

Reuters reported that more than 30 countries’ diplomats have written to China’s foreign ministry, calling the government not to take such a measure.

In a letter on March 31, the French consulate in Shanghai addressed, “We request that under no circumstances should parents and children be separated.”

The British embassy in Beijing expressed concern about “recent instances when local authorities have sought to separate minors who tested positive for COVID-19 from their parents” in a separate letter to the Chinese foreign ministry on the same day. It also requested Beijing would not apply to diplomatic staff.

Shanghai has been undergoing a lockdown since March 28. The city accounted for more than 90% of Covid-19 cases in mainland China.

Shanghai reported 23.937 new local asymptomatic infections cases and 1,006 new local symptomatic cases on Saturday.

Sign up to receive our latest news!

By submitting this form, I agree to the terms.